Government of Republic of Moldova

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Moldova

Council of Europe

The Council of Europe (CoE), having its official residence in Strasbourg (France), was established in 1949 and is the dean of age among the political organizations on the continent:

- currently includes 47 Member States,  

- has granted observer status to 5 countries (the Holy See, the United States, Canada, Japan and Mexico),

- is a distinct organization from the 27-nation European Union, but no country has ever joined the EU without first belonging to the Council of Europe.

The aim of the Council of Europe consists in creating a common democratic and legal space throughout the European continent, ensuring compliance with the fundamental values: human rights, democracy and the rule of law. These values constitute the foundation of a civilized and tolerant society and are indispensable for European stability, economic growth and social cohesion.

Basing on these important pillars, the Council of Europe has proposed the identification of common solutions for the major problems facing society, such as terrorism, organised crime and corruption, cyber crime, bioethics and cloning, violence against children and women, traffic of human beings. Therefore, the cooperation between the Member States is the only way to solve these problems.

The objectives of the Council of Europe:

- protection of human rights, pluralist democracy and the rule of law;

- promote awareness and encourage the development of identity and European cultural diversity;

- identify common solutions to challenges facing the European family;

- strengthening democratic stability in Europe by supporting political, legislative and constitutional reforms.

The current political mandate of the Council of Europe has been defined at the Summit of Heads of State and Government, held in Warsaw in May 2005.



There are no items yet.

Subscribe to Agenda